The Outside World, In and Around Duluth

Amity Creek Walk

I took Maya for a walk last night.

Birch Bustin' Out

Birch Bustin’ Out

As I was walking on the Amity, my foot poked through. It was interesting – there was about a foot of air below the ice layer before the water, so even though my foot went through up to my knee, only my toe got wet. And since I was wearing my pac boots, I stayed dry anyway. Either way, I stayed closer to shore thereafter.

Whoa!

Yikes!

I keep going back and forth between which river I like more: Amity Creek or Lester River. Today it’s Amity.

Skiing Along Amity Creek

Ski Tracks Along Amity Creek

As we swung around and started to head back for home, I saw a pretty big set of paw prints in the snow.

Maya and Mystery Track

Maya and Mystery Track

Let's Take a Closer Look...

Let’s Take a Closer Look…

I don’t know what it was from, but it certainly had bigger paws than Maya.

When I got home, I tried taking a picture of Venus, which is in its crescent stage right now, but when I showed them to my wife, she said ‘Ooo – a white dot!’ So never mind about that.

Leave a Reply

