The Outside World, In and Around Duluth

Mid-April Plot Study

On my way to my plot study today, I saw what I think is a yellow-bellied sapsucker:

2009_04

I don’t know. I don’t actually think it matches the picture in the bird book for my liking, but I’ll be jiggered if I can figure out what else it might be. Any ideas?

The Amity Creek was up for the first time in several weeks:

img_2876

Otherwise, there really wasn’t as much new as I was hoping. I’m hoping that by next week, most of the snow will be gone (the above is a south-facing hill). The weather forecast seems to be indicating that this will indeed be the case. Also next week, I’m going to go first thing in the morning to hopefully see some more birds or animals. Of course, the river is so loud that you can’t really hear much in the way of birdcalls. Oh well. That too, will eventually change.

The instructor was giving us examples of all the random things people have done for their plot studies, including artwork, journaling, very scientific data collection, etc. So in that spirit, today I did haiku. Here are some:

Buds are revving up.
Drifting yellow pollen, soon.
Where’s my kleenex box?

Saw a bug – alive!
Skeeters and ticks are coming.
Those two bring no joy.

Trail runners coming.
Not today, but soon, I’m sure.
Who doesn’t love mud?

How is moss still green?
Even under the snow, it… lives?
Barely thawed, but soft.

Heard a bird en route.
Oh, dang. Completely new call.
Dumb worthless bird book.

Vernal pool? More ‘crick.’
Suppose the frogs look elsewhere.
Still too chill for croaks.

Later arrival.
Now, old Sol is at my back.
New angled shadows.

Leave a Reply

