The Outside World, In and Around Duluth

Birding on the Western Waterfront Trail

Yesterday’s Field Interpretation class was great fun. We were down at the Western Waterfront Trail checking out all of the birds that were coming through. Here is the list of  birds we saw:

  • American Crow
  • American Robin
  • Belted Kingfisher
  • Black-capped Chickadee
  • Bufflehead
  • Canada Goose
  • Common Loon
  • Common Merganser
  • Great Blue Heron
  • Killdeer
  • Lesser Scaup
  • Mallard
  • Pine Siskin
  • Red-winged Blackbird
  • Ring-billed Gull
  • Turkey Vulture

The underlined birds are new to me. I mean, I may have seen them before, but I wouldn’t have known what I was looking at enough to identify it.

So here’s the thing – I want to bring my camera to class, to take pictures of all these cool birds. If I did, I would be the only photog there. And as much as nobody likes to stick out, sometimes you just want to throw up your hands and say ‘who cares?!’

This weekend, we are going to Crex Meadows for a birding and frogging weekend. I just checked out some hip waders, so I’ll be able to cruise the the marshes with impunity. AND, my camera is coming along, and that’s all there is to it. Pictures will be coming, so stay tuned.

Apparently, our instructors saw some pelicans on Perch Lake. We did not, but that would be pretty cool. Now, I’d like to take the kids and some binoculars out and see if we can recreate the birding experience. Won’t be this weekend, unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

