The Outside World, In and Around Duluth

Thesis Revision

Fortunately, I’m still early enough in my process that this change isn’t going to be too disruptive.

Until now, I’ve been thinking my thesis would take a look at the differences in learning between two groups: one using traditional field guides and the other using electronic field guides.

I still think it sounds like a good project, but I was having a pretty hard time getting my head around everything I’d need to do, in order to make it valid, meaningful and doable.

So, while slogging my way through my lit review (hey – those things really work!), the one thing that I haven’t been finding is an analysis of what is currently going on – specifically, what technologies outdoor educators are currently using while outside, while teaching.

And that’s what it’s going to be.

How exciting!

So, I’ll survey outdoor educators to find out what gizmos they use out in the field while teaching. GPS? Probably. Fish finders? Likely. Cell phones? Probably not. iPod Touch/iPhones? Maybe. Laptops? I can’t imagine.

Now, I just need to retool my lit review to see what I can find that’s more specifically relevant to this topic. And come up with a survey. Hmm… where can a person find a reliable and relevant tool?

To work!

2 responses

  1. Tom Beery

    It is great to hear how the process works for others! You have captured it very well–start with a good and interesting idea…see what has been written about it/what research has been done…reflect…regroup…and come out with an even better plan. My guess is that you are going to find some pretty creative people out there. Pete Harris at Wolf Ridge might be a good resource for you.

    April 8, 2010 at 12:32 am

  2. Bry

    I hope this is a better plan!

    Thanks for the tip – I’ll get in touch with Pete.

    April 8, 2010 at 8:24 pm

Leave a Reply

