The Outside World, In and Around Duluth

American Kestrel

We went for a walk in the big meadow behind Hawk’s Ridge this past weekend, and saw an American Kestrel hovering in place, watching the ground:

Okay, okay, it’s a pretty crummy picture. We were pretty far away, I was zoomed out as far as I could go, I didn’t have a tripod, and it’s pretty hard to focus on something that far away, when it’s flying.

Even so, if you click on the picture to see it larger, I think you can see the cheek stripes, the nice orange back and some of its spots.

Someday when I have more time, I’ll head back and try to find him again.

Leave a Reply

