The Outside World, In and Around Duluth

Tree Identification

I’m just back from a tree identification class led by Judy Gibbs.

Poster from MN DNR

My original intent was to just try to help lock in some of the tree ID stuff I’ve been learning recently in my field interpretation classes. By the end of the session, I think I volunteered to be on the Emerald Ash Borer Alert Team and the Duluth City Tree Count team.

The funniest part of the story happened when I got home. We have a big sugar maple right in front of our house. That I knew. There are also a bunch of trees along the boulevard, and I’ve never actually looked at them closely. I just assumed they were elms. What a maroon. I got home and took a picture of the leaf:

Um, Yeah. This is Not an Elm

It’s a silver maple. Sheesh. Up and down the boulevard on both sides. So my big discovery of the day is that, apparently – when you open your eyes – you can actually SEE things! I had a pretty good laugh at myself over this one.

So now, I’m going to start surveying the neighborhood for ash trees. The Duluth Tree count will be continuing through the summer, I think.

Nice to be able to identify the trees that are growing right outside my door.

2 responses

  1. Nicky

    Like it…but do you have names under the trees written…or is it a puzzle…😊

    December 14, 2016 at 8:12 am

    • Bry

      Hey Nicky. If you click on the image with all the trees, it’ll take you to the MN DNR website, which has an interactive poster that will tell you what the various tress are.

      December 14, 2016 at 3:04 pm

Leave a Reply

