The Outside World, In and Around Duluth

Isle Royale – Day 6 (part 2 – Daisy Farm)

Thursday, May 27 – Later

Once we got to Daisy Farm, we all just laid on the dock and rested. Some of us actually napped. It was idyllic, with the cool wind, the quiet (snoring notwithstanding) and the tranquility. I waded into Lake Superior to cool my legs, and the water was shockingly cold. Painfully cold. I love that. Tom mentioned that he had never seen the water so low, although in the below picture, it does look even lower than what we saw. I wonder if time of year makes a difference. Certainly not the seiche effect here.

I think this place must be called Daisy Farm because of all the… coneflowers. None were out this early in the year, but you could see that they grow all over, and I’m sure people see them and think ‘Daisy!’

Here was the layout:

So we laid on the dock for about an hour, just soaking up rest. Then a few people got to work on dinner (we ate at the pavilion near the landing) while the rest of us made camp.

Once camp was up, I found another shelter to do a few final run-throughs of my CCC presentation.

Tom brought back all sorts of interesting Swedish customs and traditions. One was ‘Split Pea Thursday.’ So for dinner, we had split pea soup and bisquick biscuits. Both were great. The biscuits took forever to cook for some reason, but were really good. An excellent addition to the split pea. Just writing about it right now gets my mouth watering for some buttery biscuits…

After dinner, we all headed over to the pavilion I had been working in, prepping for my presentation. My delivery method was ‘Living History,’ which is a fun way to share information. I included some side stories from my own family members that were alive during the depression, and that was a nice way to make the information seem more relevant. Most of the people in the class would have been the right age to join the CCC (18-25 years old), and I think that probably helped make it feel relevant, too. I kept plugging in the CCC motto ‘We Can Take It,’ and by the end of our trip, that was a phrase that was well-worn.

We Can Take It!

Overall, the presentation went well. I wish I would have been completely memorized (I kept my notes in hand), and that I would have had a shovel (for verisimilitude). If I were to present this one or two more times (if I were a ranger here, for instance), that wouldn’t have been a problem. Oh well. Always room for improvement. Thanks to Matt, who watched one of my early run-throughs and gave some great feedback that helped the final product.

After the presentation, we all headed back to camp and found a moose and her calf on the trail! It was too dark for the camera, so no pictures of this pair. Since it was a mother and calf, none of us were eager to get between them. Eventually, they meandered off, and we meandered to bed.

Next Up: The Edisen Fishery and the Isle Royale Wolf-Moose Study International Headquarters

Leave a Reply

